header

Psychiatrie-Museum Bern

null logo

Operating times: Closed

Season:01.01.2021 - 31.12.2023

Venue Info

Venue Location

General Information

The museum concept dates back to 1914. The reason for this was the 1914 national exhibition in Bern, in which the Bernese cantonal insane asylum Waldau also participated. At the same time, interest in the visualisation of mentally ill patients was awakening in several places in Europe, so it is not surprising that the psychiatrist Walter Morgenthaler (1882-1965) came across the idea of a museum, especially as he had been accompanying Adolf Wölfli (1864-1930) as his protégé for several years.

With the help of the nursing staff and other committed doctors, Morgenthaler set up a museum in two rooms above the former lecture hall of the new building (today's Old Clinic). In one of the rooms, models of earlier treatment methods, objects that had become historical such as lid baths, straitjackets, harnesses, escape objects and institution documents were kept, in the other the drawings, writings and compositions ofAdoIfWölfli as well as the works of many other patients. Morgenthaler paid special attention to collecting pictures and texts, which he used as research material for his habilitation thesis "Übergänge zwischen Zeichnen und Schreiben bei Geisteskranken (1918)". But even after the appearance of this publication and the famous book Adolf Wölfli. Ein Geisteskranker als Künstler (1921), he continued his collecting activities for the museum until around 1930, as his card catalogue attests. After Morgenthaler, the museum fell into a slumber, even though the clinic management always provided care.

In 1987, the clinic director, Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Böker, initiated the archiving work on the collection that had long been necessary. In 1990, while the large-scale renovation of the Pfründerhaus was underway, he founded the Psychiatry Museum Bern Foundation, which owns the museum that opened in 1993. In this way, the entire collection, which is now expertly cared for and also supplemented, was transferred from the Old Clinic to the museum archives of the Pfründerhaus.

Sponsorship: Bern Psychiatry Museum Foundation

How to get there

The museum can be reached by public transport

From Bern HB BERNMOBIL Bus 10 to Waldeck - RBS Bus 44 every 30 min (xx:26 nd xx:56) to UPD Waldau

From Bern HB RBS Line S7 (Worb) to Bolingen Station - RBS Bus 44 every 30 min (xx:26 nd xx:56) to UPD Waldau

BERNMOBIL line 28 from Wnakdorf station to UPD Waldau, last bus 18:18 to UPD Waldau

BERNMOBIL Line 28 from Eigerplatz, last BUs 18:09, from Ostermundingen station last bus 18:32 to UPD Waldau

At UPD Waldau stop, take the footpath /old Bolligenstrasse) along the current road towards Bollingen (see plan).

Location Plan

slopes-plan

header

Psychiatrie-Museum Bern

null logo

Öffnungszeiten: Geschlossen

Saison:01.01.2021 - 31.12.2023

Info

Veranstaltungsstätte

Allgemeine Informationen

Der Museumsgedanke reicht bis ins Jahr 1914 zurück. Anlass dazu bot die Landesausstellung 1914 in Bern, an der sich auch die Bernische kantonale Irrenanstalt Waldau beteiligte. Parallel dazu erwachte in dieser Zeit an mehreren Orten Europas das Interesse an der bildnerischen Gestaltung psychisch Erkrankter- und so überrascht es nicht, dass der Psychiater Walter Morgenthaler (1882-1965) auf die Museumsidee stiess, zumal er schon seit einigen Jahren Adolf Wölfli (1864-1930) als seinen Schützling begleitete.

Unter Mithilfe des Pflegepersonals und anderer engagierter Ärzte richtete Morgenthaler ein Museum in zwei Räumen über dem einstigen Hörsaal des Neubaus (der heutigen Alten Klinik) ein. In einem der Räume wurden Modelle früherer Behandlungsmethoden, historisch gewordene Gegenstände wie Deckelbad, Zwangsjacken, Gurten, Fluchtobjekte und Anstaltsdokumente aufbewahrt, im anderen die Zeichnungen, Schriften und KompositionenAdoIfWölflis sowie die Arbeiten vieler anderer Patienten. Ein besonderes Augenmerk schenkte Morgenthaler dem Sammeln von Bildern und Texten, die er als Untersuchungsmaterial für seine Habilitationsschrift Übergänge zwischen Zeichnen und Schreiben bei Geisteskranken (1918) benutzte. Doch auch nach dem Erscheinen dieser Publikation und des berühmt gewordenen Buches Adolf Wölfli. Ein Geisteskranker als Künstler (1921) setzte er seine Sammeltätigkeit für das Museum bis etwa 1930 fort, wie sein Zettelkatalog belegt. Nach Morgenthaler fiel das Museum in einen Dornröschenschlaf, auch wenn die Klinikdirektion immer für Betreuung sorgte.

1987 leitete der Klinikdirektor, Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Böker, die seit langem notwendig gewordenen Archivierungsarbeiten der Sammlung in die Wege. Während die gross angelegte Sanierung des Pfründerhauses im Gange war, gründete er 1990 die Stiftung Psychiatrie-Museum Bern, die Eigentümerin des 1993 eröffneten Museums ist. So gelangte die ganze Sammlung, welche heute fachmännisch betreut und auch ergänzt wird, von der Alten Klinik ins Museumsarchiv des Pfründerhauses.

Trägerschaft: Stiftung Psychiatrie-Museum Bern

Anreise

Das Museum ist mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln erreichbar

Ab Bern HB BERNMOBIL Bus 10 bis Waldeck - RBS Bus 44 alle 30 Min (jeweils xx:26 nd xx:56) bis UPD Waldau

Ab Bern HB RBS Line S7 (Worb) bis Bolingen Station - RBS Bus 44 alle 30 Min (jeweils xx:26 nd xx:56) bis UPD Waldau

BERNMOBIL Linie 28 ab Bahnhof Wnakdorf bis UPD Waldau, letzter Bus 18:18 bis UPD Waldau

BERNMOBIL Linie 28 ab Eigerplatz, letzter BUs 18:09, ab Station Ostermundingen letzter Bus 18:32 bis UPD Waldau

Bei Haltestelle UPD Waldau auf dem Fussweg /alte Bolligenstrasse) entlang der heutigen Strasse Richtung Bollingen (siehe Plan)

Umgebungsplan

slopes-plan